Meet Sarah!

on

Meet Addy’s best friend, Sarah Moore! Ever since I got Addy, I knew I wanted her to have her best friend Sarah. Sarah is such an important character in Addy’s books. She is the first person Addy meets in Philadelphia and becomes her most loyal friend. Sarah is patient, kind, encouraging, and always wears a sunny smile.

DSC_0204

I bought Truly Me 58 from the Benefit Sale with the intention of turning her into Sarah and I could not be more thrilled. I’ve been planning this for months. I made her dress based on the book illustrations using Kirsten’s school dress pattern.

Screen Shot 2017-07-28 at 7.41.28 AM.png

The description of Sarah in the book says that her hair is short like a boy. I am taking some liberties with that description because I don’t think I could ever bring myself to cut those adorable curls off. We’ll just say that her hair was short at the beginning of the series, but she decided to grow it out. 🙂 Plus, the American Girl best friend characters aren’t book accurate either. Emily’s hair is longer than in the original illustrations and Elizabeth is a brown-eyed brunette (they made the doll blonde with blue eyes). So, compared to Elizabeth, I would say my Sarah is really quite close to accurate.

DSC_0206

I think Addy is thrilled to finally have her best friend in the collection!

DSC_0218

DSC_0223

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathy says:

    You did such a great job on her!! So fun to follow along as you recreate the dolls and their clothing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much Kathy!

      Like

  2. IrishAG says:

    Wow! What a great idea, now Addy won’t be lonely anymore! 🙂
    ❤ , IrishAG

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! Yes, I thought Addy definitely needed her friend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your Sarah doll looks great! I love her! 🙂
    I agree, Sarah is a great character in the Addy books–and she’s a wonderful friend to Addy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. blackiesunshine says:

    Such a great idea! I love her. Welcome, Sarah!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jaclynn says:

    AWWW, how cute!! 😀
    ~Jaclynn~

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Flo says:

    I just LOVE seeing what you do with the dresses from the books. Another awesome job Emily!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much Flo! It’s something I’m passionate about!

      Like

  7. dolliegirl84 says:

    Awww!! Love this, so happy Addy has her friend 🙂

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you!

      Like

  8. She looks SOO much like in the books!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bennettv says:

    She is GORGEOUS!! You did a fabulous job on her dress! I adore her curls! I agree that we can just pretend that she grew her hair out a bit. Awesome job!

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much! I’m really enjoying her!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment