Maryellen’s Birthday

Maryellen’s birthday was this past weekend on May 7th! If you have read her books, you know that she celebrated by throwing a variety show for her neighborhood to raise money for the March of Dimes. The polio vaccine had recently been invented, so as a polio survivor herself, she wanted to raise awareness as well as funds so that all children could have a vaccine. I hope that story helps to inspire girls of today to use their birthday parties as a way to help out a cause important to them! In the book she also learned about compromise and working together to put on a performance–as well as what can sometimes happen when you get stage fright! I had fun with my own interpretation of some scenes from Maryellen’s birthday story:

DSC_0523.JPG

DSC_0520.JPGDSC_0528.JPGDSC_0544.JPG

DSC_0553.jpgDSC_0567.jpgDSC_0572.JPGDSC_0578.JPGDSC_0580.JPGDSC_0588.jpgDSC_0595.JPGDSC_0598.JPGDSC_0601.JPGDSC_0605.JPGDSC_0607.jpgDSC_0608.JPGDSC_0626.JPGDSC_0627.JPGDSC_0630.JPGDSC_0637.JPG

 

DSC_0643.JPG

 

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Gwen says:

    Love this! The pictures are so expressive. You always do such a great job with photostories!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Gwen! These pictures were really fun to take, minus the fact that crouching in my driveway for almost an hour made me a little sore…I think I’m getting old. 🙂

      Like

  2. Rutvi says:

    I agree, these photos are so cute and true to Ellie’s story! Love it!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Rutvi!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jen says:

    Really enjoyed your photos and fashions. Maryellen is becoming my favorite. DDs Maryellen has come to reside on my dresser 😊

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Jen! Yes, I am a huge Maryellen fan too. Maryellen actually belongs to my mom, but she has been vacationing at my house for a couple of weeks so that I could take these pictures. I’ve gotten pretty used to seeing her on my dresser, so my mom might have a hard time getting her home. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. kaitlynrh1 says:

    Happy birthday Maryellen!
    kaitlynrh1 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      She says thank you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kaitlynrh1 says:

        😀

        Like

  5. Flo says:

    These photos are absolutely adorable, I love them! I remember as a kid, MDA promoted backyard carnivals to raise money for muscular dystrophy. I wonder if MDA still offers the kits for them?

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Flo! Hmm, I don’t know about that, but I did have a student a few years ago with muscular dystrophy. It’s a horrifying disease, so I think raising money and awareness would be really important.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. jackylina says:

    It’s so nice to see a part of Maryellen’s books come alive through your stories. I miss the illustrations AG used to do so it’s nice to see the work you’ve done. And no, you’re not getting old. I’ve been crouching in my backyard taking pics of Kit and her friends and my legs were really stiff too!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! Yes, I do miss the illustrations a lot too, so all the more reason to make our own scenes! And good, I’m glad it’s not just me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. bennettv says:

    These photos are great! I love all the 50’s inspired dresses! Especially the red and white check and the blue with white polka dots! Happy Birthday Maryellen! 🙂

    ginnie / fakingitmostly.com

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! I love 50’s fashion!

      Like

  8. Abby says:

    Love the pictures!! The dresses are so adorable! You really have a knack for sewing! I didn’t realize Maryellen had polio. Is that why they came out with the arm crutches for the dolls? They should have had those in her collection.

    Like

Leave a comment