Behind the Scenes: How I Created a Setting for Josefina

on

One of my favorite facets of doll collecting and photographing is creating scenes for my dolls, particularly ones that convey a specific location or time in history. Some are definitely easier than others: Molly’s bedroom, for example, is easy to set up because I have her big Pleasant Company Scenes and Settings book as well as much of her bedroom furniture and accessories. Kaya is relatively easy: I live within easy access of various wooded areas that provide nice backdrops for her photos. Other dolls are harder. I would say for me personally (and probably many others–Gwen from A Peek Into the Pantry and I have discussed this) Josefina is one of the hardest. If you live in the American Southwest, you can take some gorgeous and perfectly authentic photos of Josefina. Check out @felicity1774 on Instagram for some spectacular photos of Josefina in a beautiful southwest setting! I, however, live very far away from such scenery. The green grass in my yard is hardly appropriate for Josefina and they never did make the great Scenes and Settings books that the other Pleasant Company girls got. I decided to get creative, though, and tried to create Josefina’s rancho home in my recent photoshoot of Josefina and Clara. I thought I would share what I came up with! Let me know if you’ve tried any of these techniques, or if you have any other ideas!

DSC_0642.jpg

(If you didn’t see them in my last post, these photos were the final product of the set-up you see above):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. IrishAG says:

    Wow, that’s really creative! Great job!
    ❤ , IrishAG

    Like

  2. ThePolkaDotPatriot says:

    This was awesome! I loved seeing behind the scenes! 🙂

    Like

  3. Flo says:

    I guess I never really thought about it, but yes, that would be a bit of a problem! Looks like you solved it perfectly, your photos turned out fantastic.

    Like

  4. DollHabit says:

    Wow! Your pics came out amazing!
    🙂 Bella / https://dollhabit.wordpress.com/

    Like

  5. I love how you set it up! Josephina is one of my favorites.
    ~Mira

    Like

Leave a Reply

