Emily’s Recital

In Emily’s book Brave Emily she and her classmates learn to play the flutophone, and then perform them at a class recital. Through a series of mishaps, Emily ends up having to play a solo. As a music teacher, I really love that this book’s subject is school music, but I will say that I am not thrilled at how it is portrayed somewhat negatively. Practicing is billed as a huge chore and Emily states that she hates it. She also insists that she is not “musical” at all, which is another misleading tidbit–being “musical” really doesn’t affect whether or not one is successful at playing an instrument. Attitude and work ethic are the key factors.

Ok, getting back on track a bit, I dearly loved Linda and Susan’s outfits on the cover of Brave Emily from the moment I saw the illustration, and I knew that my Linda and Susan would have to have their own recreations. I am excited to say that I have finally accomplished this task!

DSC_0077 (1).jpgAnd…a copy of Linda’s outfit is available in my Etsy shop!  https://www.etsy.com/shop/DollsandSmiles

DSC_0042 (1).jpgI did not make a second copy of Susan’s dress because satin is not my favorite fabric to work with and I didn’t want to make it if I wasn’t sure if it would sell. If you would like me to make you one, though, let me know because I do have enough fabric left over.

You will notice that Molly, Linda, and Susan have their percussion instruments. These were a wonderful and generous Christmas gift from my mom this year and are probably my absolute favorite set in my entire collection. I do not, however, have Emily’s flutophone (and probably never will–definitely not willing to pay upwards of $100 for it) so I made her one. I sculpted it out of pink foam insulation board that I found unused in the garage. I didn’t take any pictures of the process (mostly because I didn’t think it would be a successful project) but now I wish I had.

I really love my little musicians and am so happy to have completed this project!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I love how you re-create outfits and scenes from the book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. IrishAG says:

    Whoa! It looks just like the book! How fun! 🙂
    ❤ , IrishAG

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jen says:

    Beautiful photos and sewing!

    Like

  4. ThePolkaDotPatriot says:

    Love this! So cute.
    As a musician, I definitely agree–attitude/work ethic are key. If you’re doing it under protest, it will be sad. 🙂

    Like

  5. Rebekah says:

    So cute! Your costumes are very creative.

    Like

  6. jackylina says:

    Wow! You never cease to amaze me with your work!

    Like

  7. Flo says:

    Love this! Your instruments are adorable, the flutophone turned out great. I always think of what my band director used to say. “I have more respect for someone who has little talent but a lot of drive and persistence than for someone with talent who wastes it.”

    Like

  8. bennettv says:

    I love this! And Linda and Susan’s new dresses are beautiful! Great job on the flutophone too! 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

