Rebecca vs. Daylight Savings Time

on

Rebecca yawned as she read her script. She was so tired. She had stayed up late last night practicing, and still wanted to make sure everything was perfect before dress rehearsal this evening.

DSC_0976.jpg

She yawned again and shut her eyes. She had time for just a quick nap….

DSC_0982.jpg

A while later, Rebecca bolted up and looked at the clock. It was almost 7:00, she was going to be late for dress rehearsal!

DSC_0984.jpg

Rebecca arrived at the theater and changed into her costume quickly.

DSC_0964.jpg

She didn’t hear any sounds from the stage, so she breathed a sigh of relief. She wasn’t late after all.

DSC_0956.jpg

She strode on stage with confidence for her big entrance. She struck a dramatic pose and said her opening line perfectly….but there were no other actors on stage. The auditorium was completely empty.
DSC_0929 (1).jpg

Rebecca walked back into the wings in confusion. Where was everybody? Was someone playing a mean trick on her? What had happened? She thought and thought. She looked the clock. “Oh no!” she exclaimed. “It’s not 7:00, it’s 8:00! I forgot about daylight savings time! I’m over an hour late!  I missed rehearsal completely!”

DSC_0945.jpg

Rebecca then did what any good actress would do. She cried dramatically into her arms. When she did finally lift her head, though…
DSC_0951.jpg

Rebecca sat up. She was still at home in her family’s apartment. It had just been a dream!
DSC_0986.jpg

Daylight savings time didn’t start until tomorrow and she had plenty of time to get to rehearsal!
DSC_0988.jpg

She made it to dress rehearsal with plenty of time to spare, and performed her part perfectly thanks to plenty of practice as well as her nice, resting nap. 🙂
DSC_0935 (1).jpg

 

Daylight savings time really did start in United States around Rebecca’s time, in 1918. The U.S. followed other countries who adopted the practice to save fuel for lighting after dark during World War I. It was largely abandoned until deemed necessary again for World War II and then during the gas shortage in the 70s. We do it today because…um…well, nobody I’ve talked to has ever been able to give me a good reason, but we spring forward tonight!

This post is dedicated to my sister, who texted me this morning: “I’m bored. Write a blog post for me to read.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. light4thelord says:

    That was fantastic! I never knew about the real reason. And uh, thank your sister for me. I was quite amused. 🙂
    ~ Light4theLord
    https://dollsnall.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! 😀

      Like

  2. I don’t know why we still do it either. We started it in some Australian states in the 1970s too I think and I did not particularly like it at the time. Here in Tasmania I don’t mind it so much as we don’t have such a hot climate and we have nice long twilights in summer. Two states, Queensland and Western Australia don’t have Daylight Saving Time. The rest of us spring back in about two weeks. I still wonder as I did as a teenager why we just don’t all get up earlier.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Oh, that’s so interesting!

      Like

  3. jackylina says:

    haha! Your sister’s awesome!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Flo says:

    Cute story! And I’m with you, I don’t know why they don’t do away with it now. All it does now is mess up everyone’s internal clocks.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gwen says:

    That got a good chuckle from me! Love her crying dramatically into her arms. xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

