Merry Christmas from Daphne and Delaney! 

 

“Merry Christmas, Delaney!”

“Merry Christmas, Daphne! Look at all these presents!”

The girls rushed to open the big, exciting packages under the tree.

“Wow!” they both exclaimed as they ripped them open.

 

“A new guitar,” exclaimed Daphne. “It’s just what I wanted!”

“It’s Addy!” cried Delaney. “I’ve wanted Addy for so long!”

The girls happily admired their gifts by the glow of the tree and enjoyed the perfect moment.

 

Daphne looked over at her sister and saw her quietly holding Addy. “What’s wrong, Delaney?” asked Daphne in alarm, hurrying over to give her a hug. “You look so sad.”

“Oh, no!” said Delaney. “I’m not sad. I’m so so happy, actually. Having Addy makes me think of her stories. I was just thinking about how in Addy’s Christmas story she receives a beautiful doll, just like I have today. But even better than her new doll is that she is reunited with her Poppa. She knows that love, family, and hope are the greatest Christmas gifts. I’m just so thankful that I get to have those gifts year round, every day. I think remembering that is what Christmas is all about.”

“I agree,” Daphne said as she hugged her sister tightly. “We are truly blessed. Merry Christmas, Delaney.”

11 Comments Add yours

  1. kaitlynrh1 says:

    Merry Christmas, Emily! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Flo says:

    What a sweet story, Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks, I hope you have a fabulous Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Izzy says:

    I almost cried reading your story, its that sweet. Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Izzy says:

      Hey, I was wondering-did you get my email with the picture of the apron I made?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Izzy says:

        Last thing-is Delaney going to join the American Girls Club now?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Emily says:

        I think Delaney will definitely be making some occasional appearances! The real reason she hasn’t been present much comes down to real life logistics: I usually do the American Girls Club photo shoots at my mom’s house two hours away, and it is kind of a pain to bring a large number of dolls, so I like to keep it at two–Abby and Daphne (all the rest of the club members are dolls that belong to my mom). When doing the actual photo shoots I have learned one key thing: the more dolls involved, the more difficult and time consuming taking the photos becomes. That’s why we usually try to have less than 5 girls at each meeting. So that’s why I worked it into the story a while back that Delaney is just too busy to make it to very many meetings. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Emily says:

        Hey, yes I did, it is awesome! Sorry for not responding right away, I’m just really behind on blog stuff and have been busy with the holidays. I will be sure to post your photo soon!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Emily says:

      Thanks, that’s so sweet. I hope you had a great Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jen says:

    Merry Christmas! Sweet story and lovely pictures

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      I hope you had a great Christmas, Jen!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

