Thanking Veterans

DSC_0988.jpg

“Molly, what are you doing?” asked Emily as she peeked into the bedroom. “We are leaving soon for the Armistice Day performance!”

“It’s my hair! It’s a disaster!” cried Molly. “My pincurls didn’t set at all. I need beautiful curls to be Miss Victory!”

DSC_0991.jpg

“Oh Molly, you are being so silly, your hair is fine,” said Emily soothingly.

“No! It’s terrible! I just can’t go I guess. I need to be grown-up looking. Instead, I am going to just look like boring, regular Molly with braids.” Molly exclaimed as she collapsed dramatically onto her bed.

DSC_0993.jpg

“Molly! You are Miss Victory! You have to go! You know…you earned the role of Miss Victory by just being yourself. You were persistent and hard-working and full of patriotic spunk. I really think the best way for you to be a beautiful Miss Victory is to just be yourself.”

“Myself? But I want to be a better, more grown-up version of myself. That’s why I wanted beautiful curls!”

DSC_0999.jpg

“Molly, the point of this performance is to thank the military veterans who have served the U.S.A. and the world. I think that the style in which you wear your hair is not really the most important thing. I think a passionate and sincere performance, with a smiling face, is the best thing you can do to say thank-you. You have a beautiful smile…all those curls would hide your face, anyway! Oh! I have an idea! I think this hair-style will be the perfect compromise. Just trust me.”

DSC_0005.jpg

“You are right, Emily,” said Molly as her friend began to braid her hair. “I just want to do my very best. Thank you for saying so many nice things to me.”

DSC_0012.jpg

“Of course!” said Emily. “Now hand me your crown.”

DSC_0021.jpg

“I’m done,” said Emily as she pinned Molly’s braids over her crown in a very Molly-style up-do. “What do you think?”

DSC_0032.jpg

“It’s perfect. Thank you for being such a good friend,” said Molly as she jumped up to hug her.

DSC_0031.jpg

“I’m ready to be Miss Victory!”

“Well you better hurry, Miss Victory!” warned Emily. “Get dressed quickly, or we are going to be late!”

DSC_0037.jpg

The girls made it to the performance on time and put on a dazzling show. The smiled their most sincere smiles to say most sincerely, “Thank you veterans, for our freedom.”

dsc_0095dsc_0076

dsc_0109

 

In Molly’s time, what we now call Veterans Day was called Armistice Day and marks the anniversary of the end of World War I. At the middle school where I teach, my fellow music teachers and I are hosting our second annual Veterans Day assembly tomorrow. Students have invited veterans they know and we will honor them with music performances, speakers, and a reception. It’s such as small thing to do compared to what these heroes have done for us, but like my little story about Molly and her friends, it’s the best and most sincere way I am able to say thank-you.

Thank you, veterans.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post! I am thankful for our veterans, as well. 🙂
    Are the beds both AG Molly beds, or did you make them?

    Like

  2. Rutvi says:

    Aw, this is great!

    Like

  3. Cute! I love all of Molly’s collection, especially her robe!
    -Sam

    Like

  4. jackylina says:

    This is so cool! I’m glad Emily was able to get through to Molly what Veteran’s Day is all about.

    Like

  5. Kathy says:

    This is so great! I love Molly’s braids. She is just so special for who she is!

    Like

  6. Flo says:

    What a great post, so cute!

    Like

  7. Lexie says:

    I loved the story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

