Julie’s Embroidered Top

As I’ve mentioned on numerous occasions, I really love creating historically accurate doll clothes based on book illustrations. When I saw this beautiful 1970s peasant top on the cover of Julie’s mystery, “The Puzzle of the Paper Daughter” I knew that I had to make it! This ended up being quite a challenging project and my feelings towards the results are mixed.


I copied the embroidery design freehand from the illustration, making modifications where necessary and then transferred that onto my cut-out fabric pieces with disappearing ink. The embroidery obviously is what took the longest with this project. I don’t embroider much and my patience only allowed me to sit still and work on it for short periods at a time. I am fairly pleased with how all of the colors came together (it was really fun to pick out the colors from the store–I tried to match them as close as possible). Once I started piecing it together though, I realized that my embroidery should have been much smaller to create a much smaller yoke. The shape of the the top really is not quite right since the waist comes down lower than it should. I didn’t have a pattern and therefore ended up piecing together a couple of different patterns, making several of my own modifications as I went, which is where I went wrong.

I do love that I was able to find white puff-ball trim (maybe there is an actual technical name for this, but if there is I have no idea) at Wal-Mart that I think looks a lot like the illustration! I made the turtleneck underneath from the Flossie Potter 70’s Bodysuit pattern on Pixie Faire.

If I were to do this again (which I won’t–way too time consuming!) I would make the yoke shorter and keep the cut of the top more true to the illustration and correct for the 1970s time period. Overall though, I love Julie in bright colors. She is easily the doll I give the least attention to, so it was fun to work on something special for her!

24 Comments Add yours

  1. I do see that the shirt isn’t exactly true to the illustration, but it still looks really good! The embroidery looks incredible, and the whole outfit looks great on Julie. I love the blue!!
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marilyn says:

    You did a great job.
    Marilyn

    Like

      1. Emily says:

        Thanks Rutvi!

        Like

  3. Marion says:

    it is an incredible likeness. Congratulations on a job well done. Thanks for sharing.
    Marion

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you Marion!

      Like

  4. Sharry says:

    Oh, you’re too hard on yourself, it’s really far out! And there were plenty of tops I had in the 70s where the yoke came to the middle, so it’s accurate. I don’t have this version of this book, (I have the 1st release), so it’s really groovy to see Julie’s book fashions come to life.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Sharry! Oh, I’m so glad to know that it still is historically accurate, this made me feel so much better!

      Like

  5. Jen says:

    It’s fantastic. The colors on the embroidery are just so vivid. Love!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! The colors are my favorite part, I guess we have the 70’s to thank for that! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Emma says:

    Wow! I love this outfit! I think you did an amazing job, and before you explained anything that was wrong, I thought it looked perfect! 😀 Julie looks so awesome in that shirt, I love the embroidery!
    -Emma-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

  7. IrishAG says:

    What a fun idea! The outfit is gorgeous!!! 🙂
    ❤ , IrishAG

    Like

  8. jackylina says:

    That’s incredible. Looking at it quickly, it looks like an exact replica. Only if you study it ,can you see the differences.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! That’s good to know, I’m glad it’s not super noticeable.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Flo says:

    This is awesome! I can’t imagine doing all of that hand embroidery, it turned out fantastic.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much! Haha, it definitely did take a while, but it actually was kind of a good project to just sit in front of the TV with.

      Like

  10. This is so beautiful! You are very talented! Even though it comes a little bit lower at the waist, I didn’t notice until you mentioned it! I think this it such an incredible piece you’ve created! And that embroidery is super pretty 😀
    -Lydia
    Lydia’s Dolls @ http://lydiasdolls.blogspot.co.nz

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! I appreciate the nice feedback!

      Like

  11. bennettv says:

    This is adorable! You did a fantastic job! I was floored when I saw this, and I honestly had no idea whatsoever that it wasn’t a perfect match to the original. It looks just as cute, if not more so!

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much, it was a fun challenge!

      Like

Leave a Reply

