Welcome Melody! 

My sister added beautiful Melody to her collection! We absolutely love her. I mean love. There is not a single thing about her we don’t adore, and not a single item in her collection that we aren’t absolutely drooling over. My mom, sister, and I had planned a big outing to to to the nearest American Girl Place so my sister could pick her out in person (despite being a college student on a limited income she has planned to get her ever since she was announced). When her official release day came, though, and several discounted bundles were available, she decided to order one of those rather than go to the store to pick her out (we weren’t able to make it to the store until the weekend after the release and by then the bundle sales would have been over). My family is pretty musical (I’ve mentioned before that my husband and I are band teachers) and my sister is a fabulous singer and pianist. She of course choose the bundle that came with the microphone and keyboard, as well as the pink floral dress. Everything about it is perfect! My mom was a little girl in the 60s, which makes this time period so fun! She said she had a keyboard that looks just like Melody’s! She also recalls wearing a dress on her first day of kindergarten in the mid-60s that was a very similar cut/style to Melody’s meet dress.

I guess the only thing I would say that I’m not in love with about Melody is her books. I like them just fine (I certainly don’t dislike them), and I think they cover some important historical events, but I feel they kind of lack the sparkle of other AG books. I feel like the characters aren’t quite as dynamic and well developed as all of the others. I don’t feel like we get a good sense of Melody’s likes and dislikes, or the personalities of her family and friends. I mentioned all of this in the review I wrote back when her first book came out, so I won’t get too much into it now.

We spent a pretty much all of last weekend playing with Melody and taking pictures of her. Below please enjoy some of my favorites! Do you have Melody? Are you planning to get her?

 

 

dsc_0146

 

dsc_0149

 

 

 

dsc_0157

8 Comments Add yours

  1. jackylina says:

    I love your pics of her! I don’t have Melody and I’m going to wait at least until Jan to decide whether or not I’m going to get her. That’s so cool that all three of you have similarities to Melody.

    Like

  2. dolliegirl84 says:

    I purchased Melody this past Tuesday 🙂 I too, made the decision to save up for her after the announcement of her release was made. I only bought her accessories and night gown set but will be adding her picnic set and table to my collection. I absolutely love her. And MaryEllen’s new 50’s fridge set is too look cute!! I want it all. I hate having to stick to a budget 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Flo says:

    I’m also in the wait till January camp, but I am going to definitely get her keyboard. I’m like you, I come from a musical family and spent many years playing various instruments, piano included. I didn’t realize your husband was a band director too!

    Like

  4. Jen says:

    Melody looks terrific! No plans to get Melody but her PJs are a maybe for me.

    Like

  5. What a cutie! I love Melody. 🙂

    Like

  6. Emma says:

    Awww! Melody is so cute! These pictures are beautiful and make her look so realistic! 🙂
    -Emma-

    Like

  7. kaitlynrh1 says:

    Congrats, on Melody!

    Like

  8. bennettv says:

    Congrats on getting Melody! She is adorable! We are going to wait and see who the GOTY 2017 is before making a choice on her. We would also really like to get Maryellen. Back when we made Maryellen’s diner, we knew that we wanted to get her. So far, our Rebecca Rubin has been kind enough to work at the diner in her place. 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

