Addy’s Cape Island Dress

Labor Day always makes me a little sad, because it is generally agreed upon that it is the official end of summer. This past week though I was able to finish up one last summery sewing project, and I share it with you just in time with only a few hours of official summer left!
img_3067

I made Addy her Cape Island dress! I absolutely LOVE the version of this dress made by American Girl, but unfortunately the prices on eBay are astronomical so I decided to make it. I have had the 1865 Cape Island Dress pattern from Kindred Thread on Pixie Faire for a while now, I used the alternate “view B” to make a dress for my mom’s Marie-Grace last year for Christmas. I knew that I when I got Addy the very first thing I would make for her was the Cape Island Dress! I started shopping for the supplies before I even bought her. I actually had some trouble finding fabric the right color and a terrible time finding thin black soutache braid. What I ended up using is actually thicker than I would have liked, but oh well. The pattern is very easy to follow and has a beautiful fit. It definitely is a somewhat difficult pattern and certainly very time consuming (almost all of the braid had to be sewn on by hand) but I would recommend it. I made a number of small mistakes but I am overall fairly pleased with how it turned out.

Of course, my favorite thing about this dress is the spot-on historical accuracy! Below is a picture from the book Addy’s World (side note: those “World” books are the best, and it’s a shame they don’t make them any more) and as you can see, it is an exact replica! This dress is captioned as having been for a toddler.

 

Below is the dress I made for Marie-Grace. I think this pattern is a great value because you get two different versions in one. I love this version because it has a bit more versatility and I think fits right in with Marie-Grace’s 1850’s wardrobe.

Addy and Marie-Grace look so sweet and summery, but their time in this pretty style is fleeting! Time to get ready for fall, girls!

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Jaclynn says:

    WOW! Gorgeous pictures!!! And you did a great job with the dresses! 😀
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you Jaclynn! They were fun!

      Like

  2. Abby says:

    Amazing job with the dresses, you’re really talented. 🙂

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! I’m really not, but I’ve just practiced a lot and have gotten better little by little. I still have a lot to learn!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Abby says:

        That is WHY you’re talented you discover your talent you’re not always born with it

        Like

  3. dolliegirl84 says:

    Love Addy’s dress, GORGEOUS!!! You definitely have a talent, thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you so much for the nice comment! I have a lot to learn about sewing still but I really enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Gwen says:

    Awesome job! Addy looks beautiful. 😀

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! Addy looks beautiful in everything, but I really do love this color on her!

      Like

  5. bennettv says:

    You astound me. The girl’s dresses are absolutely gorgeous. Great job! 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

  6. IrishAG says:

    Wow! Beautiful job! 🙂
    ❤ , IrishAG

    Like

  7. Lydia Louise says:

    Wow I will have to check out that pattern! You have done such an incredible job what a wonderful dress you have made! I would love to try make some historical dresses for my girls ^.^ I’m glad you were able to have one last sewing project before summer finishes.. NOOO!! hehehe not for me anyway >.<
    -Lydia
    Lydia’s Dolls

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you so much! You totally should check out the pattern!

      Like

  8. Flo says:

    Those turned out fantastic! Kudos to you for all of that hand sewing, that’s a lot of work, but the end result was worth it.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! It definitely took a while but was really fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

