Tent Time at Camp Gowonagin

One of my fondest memories of Girl Scout camp was our tent time, or rest time, that always took place each day right after lunch, before we went swimming. The idea was that we would all go back to our tents to take a little nap, but of course we would talk and giggle and do absolutely anything besides nap. Almost all of the girls I shared a tent or cabin with during my years at camp were strangers when we first met, but to this day (lots of years later) I still remember all of their names and faces…that tent time bonding is significant! Here’s a quick look at what Molly, Linda, and Susan are doing during their tent time today:

DSC_0444.JPG

“Camp Gowonagin is great!” agreed the girls. 

DSC_0449.JPG

“I can’t wait to go for more hikes!”  said Linda. 

DSC_0467.JPG

“I’m having fun making my sit upon,” added Molly. DSC_0453.JPG

“Well I am excited for ghost stories!” said Susan. “Who is ready?!” 

“Um, Susan, it’s the middle of the afternoon. I don’t think you need the flashlight,” said Molly.  

“Maybe you should wait until dark for the ghost stories and flashlight,” suggested Linda. 

“Oh! Right!” said Susan. “I guess I’m just so excited!”

“No worries, Susan! There is plenty of time still for ghost stories and lots of other camp fun!” said Molly. 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Wow, it’s been a long time since I thought about making a sit-upon! Thanks for reviving those memories. Terrific pictures. I think that is the first time I have seen Molly’s tent. Is it new to you? Really special!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Jen! The tent was a Christmas gift from my mom last year. This is the first time I’ve used it in a blog post with Molly and her friends, though I did use it for a post last month for Rebecca when I made her camp uniform. I absolutely love it! Even though it’s styled to be from the 1940s it is exactly like the platform tents I stayed in at Girl Scout camp as a kid!

      Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Grace!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Flo says:

    I love seeing the girls in their uniforms, this is adorable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

