Kit’s Attic Bedroom

As you might have suspected from my last American Girls Club post, we have a new doll room to share with you! This is my mom’s new attic bedroom for Kit! She has weeks worth of labor in it and I think it turned out fantastic! We had seen several other pictures of Kit attics online and she decided she definitely needed to make one for her own. My husband built the basic structure (have I mentioned before how amazing he is?), and then my mom took it from there. She did all the staining, sawing, and gluing that needed to be done to make the stud wall, window, and all the other details.

DSC_0711.JPG

Here you can see the detail in the ceiling.

DSC_0716.JPG

My mom is not a halfway kind of person, so she decided that the outside needed to have shingles and bricks! That is attention to detail! I am so proud of her for all of the hard work she put into this project.

DSC_0720.jpg

Almost all of the non-AG accessories inside came from flea markets, including this fabulous grandfather clock! It is just the perfect size! Now, I know that most ten year-olds do not have grandfather clocks in their bedrooms, but since Kit’s attic was originally used for storage, I don’t think it’s unfathomable that it might be there!Β DSC_0723.JPG

Plus, as you can see, Kit has utilized it as a stylish hat rack! πŸ™‚

I know that my mom intends for this to be a continual work in progress. We will definitely keep adding pieces as we find them and making the space just perfect for Kit! DSC_0728.JPG

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Marilyn says:

    This is amazing.
    Marilyn

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      My mom says thanks!

      Like

  2. Marion says:

    What a wonderful and talented project. Thanks for sharing.
    Marion

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you, my mom appreciates the nice comment!

      Like

  3. This looks so cute! What a great home for Kit! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks, I think Kit likes it! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rebekah says:

    Wow! That is such a detailed room. I love it!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      My mom says thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. dolliegirl84 says:

    Looks Great!!! So creative!!!

    Like

  6. bennettv says:

    This is the most adorable Kit room I’ve ever seen! I just love Kit since she is a writer like me. She is my all time favourite. Your mom is awesome. πŸ™‚

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      My mom says thanks! Kit is a favorite around here, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. ItsAudrey says:

    That is amazing! I ❀ it!
    http://anadventurewithaudrey.blogspot.com/
    ~Audrey

    Like

  8. Flo says:

    As a huge Kit fan, I love it!!! Your mom did a great job on it. One of these days I hope to do something with my Kit’s room, make it look more like an attic instead of purple walls.

    Like

  9. Rutvi says:

    That’s so cute! Your mom did such an amazing job!!!

    Like

  10. Sharry says:

    Fantastic! It really looks great!

    Like

  11. The room looks amazing! And that grandfather clock is so cool. πŸ™‚
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Like

  12. kaitlynrh1 says:

    That is so cute! Can you do a post on your whole doll house?!

    Like

  13. Gwen says:

    Amazing job once again! I love the clock, what a cool find!

    Like

Leave a Reply

