The American Girls Club: Part 1, The Beginning

When I was at my childhood height of American Girl obsession in the late 90’s I was a member of the American Girls Club. This was a fabulously awesome club through American Girl that came with a hat and a handbook and a quarterly newspaper. Kind of the whole idea was to encourage girls to start their own, local American Girls Club using the handbook as a guide. I wanted to start my own club SO BADLY. I wore my hat around, hoping to run into other American Girl lovers. Unfortunately, none of my friends were really that interested and I never did find any other hat-wearers.

My dream was recently rekindled when it occurred to me that I have vinyl, 18 inch club members right in my house (and my mom’s house…Kyoko and Ella and many of the other friends of Abby you will meet belong to her). My blog focuses almost exclusively on the historical doll collection, but I realized that my modern dolls can have a place here too–as girls of today who have dolls and love history!

I present to you the first of hopefully many episodes of photo stories that follow the adventures of the girls who form their own American Girls Club. I chose to debut this new project today because 19 years ago today I received my first AG doll, Kirsten, for my 7th birthday. My modern doll Abby (who I received for my 9th birthday) and I share a birthday (she’s sort of my mini-me), so our series starts with Abby’s birthday celebration…you will see that the events of her birthday today are quite sentimental to me. In the future I plan to probably follow a slightly different format for the story with just captions and dialogue (and without this long preamble from me) but today Abby is our narrator:

DSC_0646.JPG

Hi everyone! I’m Abby! You might not have seen me around much before, so I am excited to see you and tell you all about my birthday today! First of all, I would love to tell you a little bit about myself. I love to read and work hard in school. I love to play my clarinet…I guess you could say I’m kind of a band geek. I enjoy traveling and learning new things, I love animals and the outdoors. I guess I am kind of shy (at least compared to some of my friends) but I always stand up for what I believe in. I am definitely a Gryffindor (my hair is kind of red, so I secretly hope that I am related to the Weasley family).

I was really lucky to get to have a great birthday party today with some great friends. I have been friends Kyoko since kindergarten. We go way back! She is so smart, witty, and is a great piano player. She is kind of quiet and shy until you get to know her.

Ella is a good friend of mine from school, she is super friendly and nice to everyone. She is peppy, outgoing, and full of energy!

Daphne is my newest friend and is very important to me. I met her this year when we both were accepted into the local youth orchestra. She plays the violin and is so amazing! Daphne is so positive and upbeat, she’s outgoing a lot like Ella. When I first met Daphne, I was reading an American Girl book after youth orchestra…I was so excited to find out that she loves American Girl, too! We became friends very quickly and now do almost everything together.

Ok, so I could definitely go on and on about my friends (they are so awesome) but you will have plenty of future opportunities to get to know them, so on to my birthday party and the amazing things that happened today!

 

DSC_0462.jpg

My mom and I made cupcakes for my birthday. What’s a party without cake, right? My friend Ella is the one standing on the bench. She is always fun and energetic.

DSC_0422 (1).jpg

Yum, cupcakes!

DSC_0433.jpg

Here is a picture of me with my friend Kyoko in the background. We have been friends since kindergarten. Maybe that’s why we have the same haircut!

DSC_0477.jpg

My parents brought out a big rectangular package…my friends crowded around, just as excited as I was!

DSC_0505.JPG

When we saw what it was they cheered, but I could hardly speak.

DSC_0539.jpg

It’s Kirsten!

DSC_0564.jpg

I have wanted Kirsten for so long…I have read and re-read her books, written reports on pioneers in school, and stared at pictures of her in the catalogue until they fell apart. I am so glad she is my first American Girl doll!

DSC_0553.jpg

Kyoko, Daphne, and Ella all thought she was perfect, too.

DSC_0577.jpg

Just when I thought my day couldn’t get any better, Daphne gave me a special gift.

DSC_0586.jpg

I opened it up as Daphne and Kirsten looked on.

DSC_0596.jpg

Ok, you are paying attention, right? Because this part is important! Daphne gave me an American Girls Club Handbook! When Daphne and I first met and learned that we are both American Girl fanatics, I told her how badly I wanted to start and American Girls Club! She’s a great friend, because she really listened, and got me the perfect gift! Something that’s really cool is that this handbook was published almost twenty years ago. That means that a lot has changed with American Girl since then. It will be really fun to do the activities in the handbook and also to use it as inspiration for making up our own!

DSC_0600.jpg

I had such an amazing birthday! I love my Kirsten doll and am so excited to officially start my own American Girls Club! I think you’ll be seeing a lot more of me from now on…and probably this group of fabulous friends as well! It looks to me like my club already has a few members… 🙂

18 Comments Add yours

  1. jackylina says:

    I was just like you as a kid. I really wanted to form an AG club. I had some of the historical pastimes with the cookbooks, crafts, paper dolls and I especially wanted to do a play from the play kit but none of my friends were interested in 18″ dolls at all (except for one friend but she lived far away). So I never got to do it. I’m so glad you’re getting to do it through your dolls. I do the same sort of thing every once in a while on my blog too.
    Where did you get that doll size handbook? Or did you make it?
    Do you have the doll size club outfits? They’re pretty easy and cheap to get on ebay if you’re interested and if you’re patient. I’m so excited for you.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      That’s so cool that we have that in common. I am hoping to find a way to make this “club” interactive with readers and their dolls, so maybe we can have a chance to do some collaboration! I made the handbook by scanning my full-sized one. No, I don’t have the outfits, but I would definitely like to scout them out on eBay, thanks for the tip!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. jackylina says:

        Great! I’m looking forward to more of your posts!

        Like

  2. This is such a cool idea! I’m looking forward to more posts like this. Oh, and great photos, by the way. 🙂
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much! More to come soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. IrishAG says:

    Aaaw! So cute! An AG club sounds awesome, I wish they still did that.
    ❤ , IrishAG

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! I know, me too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sharry says:

    I’m definitely looking forward to more in this series. (BTW…my doll Melody is a GOTY #20 from 1996.)

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Sharry! And cool, #20 is a beautiful doll!

      Like

  5. bennettv says:

    Awww! I would have totally joined your AG club back when! 🙂 Love your photo story! Too cute!!

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! Haha, too bad the social media wasn’t around back then… I could have had lots of club members!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Flo says:

    Such a great idea and a cute story. Looking forward to hearing more about the club!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Flo! More to come soon!

      Like

  7. Rutvi says:

    That was so sweet!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Rutvi, glad you enjoyed!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

