Julie’s Romper

DSC_0057.jpg

I fell in love with the Cat’s Meow Vintage Romper pattern from Forever 18 Inches as soon as I saw it and couldn’t wait to make it. I’m not sure why…I’m pretty sure I haven’t worn a romper since I was a toddler. Something about it just spoke to me! I have plans to make several of these, using a number of variations, but I decided to make my first one for Julie, since she has the smallest wardrobe out of all of my dolls. It is super easy and fun to make. I definitely recommend this pattern. The pattern states that rompers, or playsuits, were very popular from the 30’s to the 50’s. However, a simple Google search will tell you that they were also worn in the 70’s! My mom also verified this for me, though lamented that she never wore a romper/playsuit/jumpsuit because she was tall and had too long a torso for them to fit correctly.

DSC_0037.JPG

I decided to make this pattern work for the 70’s by eliminating the ruffles and the princess seams. I think this also works better for Julie’s personality…she’s not super ruffly. I might still make the shorts even shorter. My understanding is that short shorts were the thing in the 70’s…for both females and males!

DSC_0046.JPG

This outfit is perfect for staying cute while at play!

DSC_0054.JPGDSC_0052.jpgDSC_0109.jpg

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Rutvi says:

    You did a wonderful job! It’s very ’70’s!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Rutvi!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. IrishAG says:

    Aaaw! Great job, I love rompers.
    ❤ , IrishAG

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks, me too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That looks so good on Julie! Great job! 🙂
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Olivia says:

    That is so cute! 🙂

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Olivia!

      Like

  5. Sharry says:

    As a 70s kid, I think it’s groovy! I had a few rompers back in the day, too. 2 of them even doubled as swimsuits. Nice job!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Sharry! You are in the back of my mind every time I make something for my 70’s girls, so I am so glad you think it’s groovy!

      Like

  6. bennettv says:

    I love it! It looks so adorable on Julie! Great job!!

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    Like

  7. Flo says:

    As another child of the 70’s, I think what you did is perfect. The one I had wasn’t as short in the legs as a pair of short shorts, so I wouldn’t adjust it too much, if at all. Definitely a good call on eliminating the ruffles too, they were very simple for that era. I might have to get this pattern, love it!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much for the input! I think I will definitely just leave the romper the length it is, then.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

