Earth Day 2016

on

Happy Earth Day! Earth Day began 1970, so today Julie and Ivy celebrated an important day that began in their decade. Shout out to Julie Newman’s 70s Time Capsule for helping me come up with some authentic 70s environmental slogans. My husband and I are going to celebrate Earth Day a little late tomorrow by going on a long hike and picking up trash. Today Julie and Ivy made the most of the day by raising awareness and planting a baby tree:

IMG_7484IMG_7486IMG_7491IMG_7493IMG_7494IMG_7499IMG_7502IMG_7497

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Sharry says:

    Hi from me and all the gang at Julie Newman’s 70s Time Capsule! I’m a pre-school teacher, and my class has been busy planting flowers, fruits and veggies. And I even taught them to make “growing” newspaper trees. The all know how to recycle all of our spare paper into the recycling bin in my classroom. Happy Earth Day!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Sounds like a great way to spend Earth Day!

      Like

  2. CutePolarBear says:

    I’m curious- from what do we need to save the earth?

    CutePolarBear

    Like

    1. jackylina says:

      From ourselves! We terrible polluters of our planet! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Emily says:

      Alien invasion. Haha, no, “Save the Earth” is commonly used phrase that refers to conserving our natural resources, recycling, eliminating pollution, and just generally keeping our beautiful planet clean and healthy for ourselves as well as future generations! 🙂

      Like

  3. jackylina says:

    I loved these pics!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! They were fun! Getting my dolls to stand in the grass is always hard for me, so my husband grudgingly came out and helped spot them while I took the pictures. Only once our neighbors had gone inside and weren’t watching, of course. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. jackylina says:

        I always use doll stands for outside pics. I don’t know how anyone can get them stand without them!

        Like

  4. Flo says:

    Looks like Julie and Ivy had a great day! I planted flowers. I think it’s the earliest I’ve been able to plant them in a while, but I have to cover them up tonight, supposed to get frost, ugh!

    And yes, we need to save the Earth from mankind! Between litter, airborne pollution, stripping natural resources and many other things, we are taking way more than we are giving back.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      I haven’t planted my flowers yet, but hopefully soon. I don’t have a green thumb at all, so anything I grow needs all the help from the good weather it can get! Yes, agreed, everyone needs to do their part to not squander all of our natural resources. I read recently that there are kids in China who are surprised when they learn that the sky is blue. That is scary.

      Like

  5. Jaclynn says:

    Julie and Ivy are SO cute! I love seeing them together 🙂
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Jaclynn! They really are a darling pair!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. kaitlynrh1 says:

    Super cute!
    kaitlynrh1

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

