Julie’s Classic Meet Mix-and-Match

on

My sister received a beautiful Julie from my mom this year for Christmas to add to her collection. My sister, however, is a poor college student, and therefore is limited in the amount of clothes and accessories she can buy for her dolls. She doesn’t have much time for sewing, either, but this has not deterred her from still having fun and being creative with her new Julie doll. She found some great pieces in her original collection from when she was a little girl that, when mixed and matched with her Julie’s Classic Meet Outfit, make some great 70s outfits! With some coaching from my mom, a genuine 70s girl, she put together some cute looks! I was excited to be there and took some pictures to share.

1ec5dbe3-ccb7-49a5-a2be-9517745bde20.jpg

This top was made for my sister by my mom probably ten or twelve years ago. The really funny thing is that her intention was not even for it to be a 70s style top! I guess that was a complete accident. 🙂 Julie didn’t even exist then, but now I think it’s perfect for her. The belt comes from her Classic Meet Outfit and the boots are from American Girl Velveteen Coat Set. The skirt and  headband come from a non-AG set that was purchased from ShopKo (a store similar to a small Target or Meijer) that are labeled “Battat” on a small tag on the inside. My sister had quite a few of these outfits from ShopKo and they are pretty cute and nice quality, but the packaging is long gone and we really don’t know much more about them. I know that Battat now is the company that makes Our Generation dolls, but I don’t know if that is what they would have been at the time since I’m not sure how long OG has been around.

180a15e4-0fe0-4018-b5e4-3db7a7a486ce.jpg

This outfit uses the turtleneck from Julie’s Classic Meet Outfit, along with the belt, which Julie is wearing as a headband. The boots are from the American Girl True Sprit Outfit and the corduroy skirt was made by my mom a long time ago.

 

c67514a7-59f8-4ea6-9976-8a2dc458959f.jpg

In this look, Julie is wearing the sandals and jeans from her Classic Meet Outfit and the t-shirt and headband are from ShopKo and are labeled Battat.

Julie is a fun character to mix-and-match with, and I commend my sister for using thrifty solutions to expand Julie’s wardrobe potential!

 

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Olivia says:

    Those outfits look really cool on Julie! I loved the post 🙂

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! Julie is so fun!

      Like

  2. buzzaboutag says:

    They all look so groovy on her! I love Julie!
    ~Rutvi 🙂

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks, I will pass along the compliment to my sister!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jen says:

    And it’s very 70s to make do or sew your own… The Carter years were a tough time financially in the country. Around this time the grocery store Pick n Save was born and everything there was packaged in black and white generic packaging and you had to write the price on yourself with a grease pencil! As I kid I thought that was so fun.
    Julie looks right at home in her custom attire.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Oh, cool, I didn’t even think of that added element of authenticity! Wow, that’s so interesting about the grocery store. Thanks sure have changed!

      Like

  4. Sharry A. says:

    Oh wow! Far out! Y’know what’s really funny? I have a top for my dolls in magenta, orange and white that looks just like the top in the first picture! It was purchased from a defunct site called The Doll Mall. It came w/ some groovy jeans and was sold as a 70s outfit! Too much! And as a 70s girl, I can say your sister’s Julie looks Outta Site and Dyn-O-Mite!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Sharry! I will tell my sister she has the approval of a 70s expert! I’ve never heard of the Doll Mall, too bad it’s not still around.

      Like

  5. jackylina says:

    Very cool outfits. I can see all of them would go well together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

