Kit’s Hairstyling Set

on

Kit’s Hairstyling Set is on sale from American Girl for $7 right now, so I decided to buy it. I don’t have Kit (my mom does) but I thought that the clips would be perfect for my 1940s girls. I don’t care for how American Girl does not have any stock photos of the dolls actually modeling their hair styling sets, so I thought I would share some photos of Kit wearing her barrettes. As with many of my purchases from the “sale” category, I often am quick to rationalize with “Oh, what a great deal!” I definitely did that in this case, and then later realized that I paid $7 for four plastic barrettes that cost pennies to produce. Kind of not worth it. They are still cute though and I think Molly, Linda, Susan, and Emily will all get a lot of use out of them. And of course my mom’s Kit, whenever she wishes to borrow them.

IMG_0682.JPGIMG_0684.JPGIMG_0686.JPGIMG_0688.JPG

I like the uniqueness of the dog clip, but you can’t really tell what it is when you look at the doll straight on, and even from a slight angle, as shown above, I think it is hard to fully appreciate. The profile shot below displays it best, I think.

IMG_0689.JPG

 

I also bought Addy’s hairstyling set since it was on sale too, but I don’t have her yet (my plan is for her to come home with me at the Benefit Sale this summer!) so I can’t really say  much about it. I do think it seems to be a slightly better value than this set, though. Apart from the old Pleasant Company curler sets, these are the only hairstyling sets I have. I contemplated Rebecca’s (it was also on sale) but it just didn’t seem very useful to me. Do you have any of the hairstyling sets? What do you think of them?

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. agteen says:

    I have those and my Kit doll looks good in them

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Cool, yes, I think the barrette look is good for Kit.

      Like

  2. buzzaboutag says:

    I’m not sure this would look that great on other dolls, but something about it just works with Kit. SO adorable- I like the barrette too.

    Like

  3. Jen says:

    Love the clear yellow barrette on Kit! I’ve been tempted by the barrettes for her, too. I do have Addy’s braid/headband thing, but it doesn’t sit right on my Addy, alas!

    Like

  4. Sharry A. says:

    I have Julie’s set, and it just reminded me so much of those hairstyling sets in the 70s. I personally went through 3 of those sets as a teenager.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Yes, Julie’s is pretty cool and it’s so great you have that personal connection with it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

