International Women’s Day

on

Today is International Women’s Day! This means something different in many places throughout the world, but to me is all about celebrating that women can do anything just as well as a man. Our world is shaped by smart, strong, successful women and I think they are worth celebrating every day, not just today. I think all of the girls from the American Girl collection are a reflection of this belief, but to me, Caroline especially epitomizes these feminist values.

She is gorgeous and ladylike and is a great seamstress. She sews her own beautiful gowns…

IMG_7332.JPG

…and also embroiders an exquisite gift for her papa–and like Caroline, it’s more than just pretty. It helps him to escape from the British! It takes a special kind of girl to pull that off!

IMG_6921.JPG

Even though she loves to sew, Caroline can also do chores at the farm just as well as a boy…

IMG_6345

…and isn’t afraid to walk the mail route (a boy’s job) for her friend Seth.

IMG_7321.jpg

Caroline isn’t afraid to get her hands dirty. She loves to fish…

IMG_6729.jpg

…and more than anything dreams of being the captain of her own ship.

IMG_0547

Thank you American Girl for making such an inspirational character that empowers girls to believe they can do anything! I love American Girl’s catchphrase for Caroline: “Some heroes wear uniforms. And some of us wear pink dresses.”

I hope you have a real person in your life just as inspirational as Caroline. For me, that person is my mom. She is the strongest, smartest, most determined woman I know. My whole life she has taught me I can do absolutely anything I set my mind to.

Happy International Women’s Day!

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. buzzaboutag says:

    This was so awesome!! I agree with you 100 percent! Caroline is such an inspiring character. I really want to repost this, may I?

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! And sure, though please say where it came from.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. buzzaboutag says:

    Reblogged this on Buzz About AG and commented:
    Hi everyone! As you may or may not know, yesterday was international women’s day! I think it is important to celebrate women and today I will (with permission) be repost in something I saw on Herstory AG! It’s a wonderful blog, you should really check it out. 😉

    Like

  3. Olivia says:

    This is so cool! Love the pictures 😉

    Like

  4. oodlesandbundlesblog says:

    Yes! Girls and women are just as good as boys and men and we can do anything! I sort of feel like sending this to the Taliban, but I want to live for a long time, so I won’t. 😉 But honestly! In the Middle East, women are being abused, girls are being stripped of their right to an education and are being forced to let go of their dreams, often being married as young as 9 or 10 years old to settle family feuds! Sorry for being a damp towel, but I’m very passionate about this subject.
    -Lily from https://oodlesandbundlesblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      It’s a great thing to be passionate about! Have you read the book “I am Nujood, Age Ten and Divorced”? It’s a biography about a girl who went through exactly what you are talking about.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. oodlesandbundlesblog says:

        I’ve heard of it. ;)Thanks for sharing, I’ll see if my school library has it!

        Like

  5. Your pictures are fabulous!! I completely agree with women being just as capable as men!
    -Anna

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Anna!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

