Read Across America Day

on

Today is Read Across America Day, celebrated each year on Dr. Seuss’s birthday. I have loved to read my whole life and when I was in elementary school this day meant one thing: Read ‘n Feed! Getting to bring snacks and pillows to school and reading all day was the best day of the year! Since this day resonates strongly with my childhood, who better to be the stars of this post than my three childhood dolls.

Abby has a book that you likely would have found me reading in 2000. I love Harry Potter just as much (maybe more…probably more) than I love American Girl. I literally grew up with Harry. I read the first book when I was 10 (Harry’s age at the beginning of the first book), right when the books became popular in the U.S. The last book came out when I was 17, Harry’s age in the last book (like a true die-hard fan, I stayed up all night reading it the day it came out). As a late 90s/early 2000s doll, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone is the perfect choice for Abby today!

Molly loved to read and has a Nancy Drew book today. I think it’s cool that this series has been popular for decades and that they are books that I read, my mom read, and my grandma read.

Kirsten was a very lucky to have the opportunity to learn to read as an immigrant on the frontier. Books were scarce, and Kirsten didn’t particularly enjoy school or reading at first. I’m sure especially as she got older Kirsten would have been exceedingly thankful to be literate.

American Girl did such a great job at promoting reading when I was growing up. The dolls wouldn’t be nearly as interesting and meaningful to me if there weren’t exciting stories to go along with them. These are some American Girl bookmarks that I think I got when my family visited the American Girl showroom in Middleton, Wisconsin. I also had the Kirsten one as a poster version in my room!

I hope everyone enjoys reading a good book today!

I printed Abby’s Harry Potter book dust cover from American Girl Ideas. They are well done and the perfect size!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. jackylina says:

    I think I like Harry Potter more than AG too! Could you pick a top top favorite book? Mine would be Lord of the Rings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      What a hard question. Besides Harry Potter, I would have to say Jane Eyre. I read The Hobbit and really liked that, but I still need to read Lord of the Rings.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. jackylina says:

        The Lord of the Rings is FAR better than the Hobbit.

        Like

  2. Jen says:

    Love your tribute to reading! Can you believe neither of us has read Harry Potter?!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks, and put them on your reading list!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Jen says:

        DD is in ballet and dance team. Their recital this year is movie themed, and her level is dancing to Harry Potter. Looks like we will need to get educated sooner rather than later.

        Like

  3. Diamond says:

    I have the same bday as Dr. Seuss!!๐Ÿ˜€๐ŸŽ‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

