Happy Birthday Ivy!

Today is Ivy’s birthday! Ivy was excited to have her friend Julie over to celebrate. It was a beautiful day, so she decided they should use the picnic table outside on the deck.

IMG_7276.JPG

Julie arrived and wished her best friend a happy birthday! As she did so, the wind began to pick up.

IMG_7281.JPG

“Let’s pull each other’s hair back!” suggested Ivy, as her vision was obscured by her blowing hair.

IMG_7279.JPG

Ivy used her braiding mastery to pull Julie’s hair into French braids.

IMG_7283.JPG

Julie ran inside to grab her poncho (the wind was a little chilly) and came back with a special surprise for Ivy. “I made you a birthday crown!” she declared happily.

IMG_7286.JPG

Ivy put it on and felt like a groovy birthday princess.

IMG_7288.JPG

Julie had another surprise for Ivy. She pushed a lumpy package across the table to her friend.

IMG_7291.JPG

With some help from the wind, Ivy tore open the package.

IMG_7296.JPG

“Wow! A foot rug! Far out!” squealed Ivy. “This will look great in my room! Thanks, Julie!”

IMG_7301.JPG

IMG_7302.JPG

The wind threatened to carry the new foot rug away, so the girls retreated inside to enjoy cake and ice cream. They were thankful that they got to spend at least part of Ivy’s February birthday outdoors! Happy Birthday, Ivy!

IMG_7303.JPG

 

My amazing, wonderful husband built this picnic table for me this week after I saw this design from Ana White.

I was inspired to make Ivy’s birthday crown after seeing Jessica’s design on American Girl Fan. I made mine a little differently, I used ribbon instead of pipe cleaner and I had fabric with a convenient flower print, so I used that instead of craft foam.

 

 

21 Comments Add yours

  1. IrishAG says:

    I love their hair styles! Happy birthday, Ivy! 🙂
    ❤ , IrishAG

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! They were fun…and necessary!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jackylina says:

    What a great table and what a great husband!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      He’s pretty great. 🙂 I’m going to get tons of use out of it!

      Like

  3. Jen says:

    Julie looks amazing with her hair braided like that. Lovely picnic table, too! Happy Birthday Ivy!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! Julie has such fun hair to play with. Since my Julie is a flea market restoration doll, her hair doesn’t have the perfect Julie glossy shine, but I’m actually ok with that because it means that I can style it without being worried about leaving kinks or damaging it in any way.

      Like

  4. Sunny says:

    Happy Birthday, Ivy! 😀 Looks like you had a great day!
    *Sunny
    P.S. You have the same birthday as my dog. XD

    Like

  5. Sharry says:

    Happy Birthday Ivy! Did your doll mommy help Julie make that rug?

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Yep, it was a fun little project!

      Like

  6. Aww! This is so cute! I loved reading it! 🙂
    ~Kaitlyn

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Kaitlyn!

      Like

  7. Flo says:

    Such a cute story, even with the wind! Happy birthday Ivy!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      The wind definitely was an interesting challenge!

      Like

  8. Awww, I loved the pictures of them doing their hair! So cute! And that picnic table is awesome! 🙂
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Jaclynn!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I love that crochet poncho! I want to make one for my girls!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! I’m not a very good crocheter, but this was pretty easy. Written crochet patterns tend to confuse me, but I found a YouTube video for this one. It was intended for a baby human, but it was easy to adapt!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s awesome! I’ve been making doll hats from a modified baby hat pattern 🙂 Crocheting for dolls is so fun because it’s reasonably quick and so cute!

        Like

  10. buzzaboutag says:

    Love love love!!! I nominated you for an award, Emily- go check it out!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks, you’re so sweet!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. buzzaboutag says:

        Aw, thank you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

