Linda’s Meet Outfit

IMG_7216.jpg

My doll Linda is a self-created friend doll to Molly McIntire, based on the character Linda Rinaldi from the Molly books. She is #49 and I chose her to be Linda because she resembles the illustrations in the books and because she is such a unique and striking doll. I also have a designated Susan doll, but today this post is all about Linda because I finally completed what I am going to call her “meet outfit”. I got Linda and Susan at the MCM sale this summer and have since made them a few things and have featured them in a few posts. What I have been most excited about completing, though, is the outfits that they are wearing in the book illustrations of Meet Molly by Valerie Tripp. The outfits also appear in Brave Emily.
Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 1.51.13 PM.png

 

I made both the jumper and the sweater out of garments I found at Goodwill. I really like upcycling human clothes into doll clothes because I think you end up with very realistic textures. I used the Not! Your Brother’s Overalls pattern by Forever 18 Inches found on Pixie Faire for the jumper. It is an excellent pattern with very easy to follow instructions, extremely detailed photographs, and helpful hints along the way. It also provides several options for making variations so you can get a lot of different looks. The thickness of the corduroy I used made some parts difficult at times, but it worked pretty well overall.

IMG_7219.jpg

 

I took some artistic license and deviated some from the illustrations. I decided to make the buttons red and chose to leave off the pockets, though perhaps I will decide to add them later.

IMG_7225.jpg

I have always liked Linda and Susan since I was a little girl, I think mostly because Tripp does such a great job at developing their personalities in the books. When I got back into American Girl I knew that Linda and Susan were going to be some of the first additions to my collection and I am so glad that they were. I really enjoy the challenge of matching an outfit to a book illustration, so this was a fun project for me and I am happy with how Linda looks in her new outfit! I am almost finished with Susan’s, too, so I will share that one soon!

IMG_7226.jpg

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, I love it! The outfit looks so much like the outfit from the book illustration! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! You did an incredible job! 🙂
    I also love #49- She’s on my wish list 🙂
    ~Jaclynn~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! I definitely recommend her, she is beautiful and her hair is super fun to play with.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sunny says:

    It looks amazing!! ❤
    *Sunny

    Like

  4. Lainey says:

    That is so cool!!! Great job!!:D

    Like

  5. Gwen says:

    Awesome work, as usual! I love all the outfits you’ve made for your 40’s girls. c:

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! I love the 40s–we have that in common!

      Like

  6. jackylina says:

    I love it! It goes so well with her coloring. I always wished AG would have made Linda and Susan instead of Emily. They were more Molly’s best friends than Emily.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! Well, I do love Emily, but yes, I agree that I had always hoped for Linda and Susan friend dolls too. I think they probably chose Emily because she brought a different perspective to the story; I suppose Linda and Susan were just too similar to Molly.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Flo says:

    Adorable, I love it! I’ve been curious about that pattern, good to hear from someone who has used it.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! It’s a great pattern, I recommend it.

      Like

  8. Sharry A. says:

    Great job! It looks just like the picture!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Sharry!

      Like

  9. Jen says:

    Another great part about the up cycled fabric is that is has survived being washed. Outfit looks amazing! Terrific idea.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Oh good point! Thank you!

      Like

  10. That is so cute! You did a great job recreating that outfit! 🙂

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks, it was fun to make!

      Like

  11. I just found your blog, and I love it. I am so into the history behind AG Dolls. Do you know if there is a book published with all the AG Dolls history? I just started my own AG Blog, maybe you could check it out and we could follow each other?
    https://hellodollieblog.wordpress.com/
    -Kara-

    Like

Leave a Reply

