Julie’s Weekend Relax Outfit

Happy Friday! I hope everyone had a great week! I made this outfit for Julie earlier this week and I decided it seemed like just the right kind of comfy, casual, 70s outfit for her to wear while relaxing.

IMG_7161

When Julie came home from school, she looked outside and saw snow flurries…definitely a good evening to stay inside and relax!

Her pants are made of a paisley denim-like fabric that I found in my mom’s stash. I used the Liberty Jane Moto Pants pattern (just because it was what I had available and they fit really nicely) and I added the flared legs. IMG_7165

Her shirt is made from the Liberty Jane Baseball Tee pattern. It was really easy to follow, but for some reason it turned out really really tight. I feel confident that I did everything correctly, so I’m not sure what happened. It is tight in the body as well as the arms–I could barely get the sleeves over her hands. I still like it though, I just think I will make some adjustments when I make it next time. IMG_7166.jpg

Julie can tie back her long hair with the headband I made for her out of fabric scrap. No sewing involved, I just folded each raw end under and tied it in the back.

Now Julie can hang out and read a book…

 

IMG_7177

…or do a craft project..

IMG_7184

IMG_7185

…or just be glad it’s the weekend!

IMG_7170

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Her outfit is adorable! I have problems with that pattern being super tight too. I think it’s just how that pattern was made.
    ~Kaitlyn

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! Oh, good to know, glad it’s not just me.

      Like

  2. I love the shirt! 🙂
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! I like this pattern because there are endless possibilities to the color and fabric combinations. It is a timeless style, too. I will definitely make more!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Flo says:

    Very cute! I haven’t tried that shirt pattern yet, so this is good to know that it is tight, I probably will cut it larger when I try it.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Yep, that’s what I will definitely do next time! I estimate that each of the sleeves need an additional quarter inch of width, and I think the shirt front and backs could be widened, too.

      Like

  4. Kayla says:

    Nice outfit what shoes are those?

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks, they are the boots from the True Spirit outfit, the meet outfit for the Truly Me dolls prior to the current one. I like them because I think they work well for Julie’s time period as well as the modern dolls.

      Like

  5. Jen says:

    Gorgeous photos of Julie looking out the bay window. All she needs on her baseball shirt are some rainbow glitter iron on letter spelling her name. That’s how we rolled in the 70s!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Oh, ok, good idea! I had been wondering what I could do to give it a little something extra.

      Like

  6. Sharry A. says:

    Groovy! I’m digging the jeans. And yes, I agree w/ Jen that she needs a little 70s something on her t-shirt. Since my dolls are 70s kids, I’m always making iron-ons on my computer w/ cool 70s graphics on them. If you decide to do this, I would suggest using the Avery iron-on paper for dark shirts (even if yours isn’t dark). You don’t have to flip the picture to print it, and the colors come out brighter and bolder and will stand out better on the shirt. Good luck and have fun!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      I think I will try that, thanks so much for the advice! I’m in favor of adding some authentic detail!

      Like

Leave a Reply

