Thrifty Thursday: AG Inspired Floppy Bow Headband

When Samantha’s Special Day Dress came out last year, I fell in love with the hair accessory that came with it. The floppy, looped, ribbon headband is so cute! It is so unique but also so perfect for Samantha and her time period. This Christmas I made my mom a replica of the Special Day Dress, including the headband.

IMG_1338

As I was making it, I started thinking that any girl from the early 20th century onward could have worn a headband like this and would have looked adorable!

IMG_7147

It so happened that I received a length of ribbon on a Christmas gift that was just perfect for making another one. This is an ideal Thrifty Thursday project because it really did cost me nothing and I recycled gift ribbon that some people might have thrown away. It was really easy to make, here is how I did it:

  1. I started with several feet of wide ribbon.

2. About 12 inches up, make a medium sized loop.

3. Make another, slightly larger loop underneath of the first.

4. Add a third, even bigger loop underneath the first two.

5. This is what it looks like when laid flat.

6. Here is the few from the top, pinned in place.

7. I staggered the underneath sides of the loops so that the headband would lay flat without a big bump. I did this differently than I did when I made my first one for Samantha.

8. Sew it in place.

9. Trim so that it is about 24 inches long in total, with the bow being off to one side. At this length you can tie it in the back of your doll’s head. Another option would be to cut it shorter and add a small piece of elastic so that is an actual headband, but I found that I like this way best.

Ta-da! I think Julie looks cute and girly!

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Birdie Girls says:

    Thank you for this! I really like that ribbon 🙂

    -Callie

    Like

  2. Oh wow! You did a great job at recreating that! 🙂
    ~Jaclynn~

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks…I can’t take too much credit though, because it was super easy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

