My Secret Christmas Project Reveal, Part 2

Yesterday I posted about my family’s Secret Santa homemade gift exchange and explained that I had my mom this year and decided to make her an outfit for each of her dolls. Yesterday I shared the outfits I made for all of her modern dolls and today I am sharing the ones I made for her historicals! Of course these are the ones that excite me most. I had a blast choosing fabric and patterns and learning more about historical clothing.  

I made Julie this dress from the Soda Pop Street Swing Dress pattern. I modified it by removing the high-low hem. I snatched the fabric from my mom’s stash because I thought it seemed like just the right vintage look for Julie. After opening the gift she admitted that she’d been wondering why I had been stealing her fabric in such quantities!

For Maryellen I made this Little ’50s Swing Coat by Flossie Potter on Pixie Faire. This one was tons of fun. I had never made a fully lined jacket before, so I learned a lot about that process. Maryellen is from Florida, but since this particular Maryellen doll lives in the midwest, she definitely needed a coat!   

I knitted this beret for Kit to replicate the one from the company. I intended to make mittens, too, but ran out of time. I don’t remember exactly what pattern I used for the beret, but I do know it was a free one I found on Pinterest.

Samantha is wearing a dress and headband I replicated from her Special Day Dress. I used the Crabapples Garden Party Dress Bundle pattern and I think it is great. There are a lot of variations and I plan to use it to make more dresses for both Samantha and Rebecca.

Cécile is wearing a pink dress that I based loosely off of an illustration in Meet Cécile. I sort of created the pattern myself by putting together elements from several different patterns.

I made this dress for Marie-Grace from the 1865 Cape Island Dress pattern by Kindred Thread on Pixie Faire. I used the “view B” option. This was a lot of fun to make and I plan to use the pattern again to make the actual Cape Island dress for when I get Addy. This dress I think was my mom’s favorite of all the outfits.

I made this yellow skirt for Josefina and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice she looks in this bright color. In one of her book illustrations her sister Clara is wearing a yellow skirt, so that was my inspiration. The sash she is wearing came from one of the vendors at the American Girl Benefit Sale this summer.

When I saw this fabric, I thought it would be perfect for Felicity. This is another one of those outfits that I sort of put together using various pattern pieces because I didn’t have exactly the right design I was looking for. I now sort of wish I had made the neckline lower and more embellished, but I think maybe the addition of an apron or a shawl will make the look work.

This dress was my biggest project of them all. It is definitely the hardest pattern I have attempted and I learned so much from doing it. It is rated as intermediate, which probably is about right, but it for me personally it was a bit of a stretch at times. It didn’t turn out perfect, but overall I think it is a nice gown for Elizabeth. It is the 1770 En Forreau’ Gown by Thimbles and Acorns. It took a lot of patience, an email to the author (who was very nice and responded right away), and lots of hours. Normally when I have sewing questions I call my mom, but of course I couldn’t do that in this situation! I love the historical accuracy of the design; there are pockets in both the overskirt and the petticoat and there are ties inside of the overskirt that make it bustle as shown.

Giving all of these outfits to my mom was one of those situations where giving a gift is so much more fun than receiving one. When we do our Secret Santa exchange everyone is supposed to guess who made their gift, but I gave myself away the moment she opened the package because I was just so excited.

I hope everyone was able to give and receive some special gifts this Christmas season, as well as make special memories with family and friends, which of course is what it is really all about.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Flo says:

    Wow, now that was a lot of sewing!!! They all turned out fantastic though. I have to agree, Marie-Grace’s dress was my favorite, but they all have so many details. I need to get back to sewing, I have a stash of fabric waiting…

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! Yes, it was very time consuming, but I found that the more I did it, the better I became at planning time to do it.

      Like

  2. Wow! You did a great job on your sewing! And I’m sure your mom will love all of the doll clothes. 🙂 Great job!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks for the nice comment! It was fun to give such a personalized gift.

      Like

  3. Megan says:

    Your dolls look so cute in those outfits!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! They are my mom’s dolls, so it is always super fun to play with other dolls besides my own!

      Like

  4. Fawn says:

    You are an excellent seamstress! Each dress is lovely!
    Fawn

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! I am definitely not an advanced seamstress by any means, though. This was the biggest project I have ever undertaken. I made lots of mistakes, but also learned a lot too!

      Like

  5. I love these! They look so well made, and I the fabrics you chose are perfect. I especially like Marie-Grace’s dress and Felicity’s dress. 🙂

    Like

  6. Catlover02 says:

    Woah! You are awesome at sewing! They all look very well made. 🙂 My favorite is Marie-Grace’s dress.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! I’m actually still a beginner but I’ve been learning a lot!

      Like

Leave a Reply

