Julie’s Christmas Tree

One week until Christmas! I can’t believe it! When I asked my mom what Christmas trees looked like in the 70s when she was growing up she said big lights and tinsel! I wasn’t sure if I was even going to be able to find tinsel at the store because nobody that I know uses it, but I found some and had lots of fun making a huge mess with it. I decided to also go with a bird theme for some of Julie’s ornaments because my mom has several vintage bird ornaments from the 1970s that she still hangs on her tree and also because of Julie’s affinity for eagles. I didn’t find any eagle ornaments, but owls are also raptors so I decided that was close enough. I hope everyone is excited for Christmas! I am definitely ready for some time off of work, time to spend with my family, and of course lots of good food to eat! 
  

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sharry A. says:

    Another 70s girl here! Actually, Walgreen’s still carries tinsel in silver and gold! I always use tinsel, sparkly garland, my pipe cleaner angels, vintage lanterns and the same tree topper that we had since right before I was born! My tree always looks very shiny and classic like it did when I was a kid in the 70s!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Oh, cool, gold tinsel would have been fun! I hope you had a very Merry Christmas celebrating with your shiny, sparkly tree!

      Like

  2. Flo says:

    As another child of the 70’s, I think your tree looks great. Tinsel was a messy thing, and even messier if you had a cat! 😉

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! Haha, yes I can only imagine…

      Like

  3. Fawn says:

    As a kid we always used tinsel on our tree and my dad was very picky about making sure it was hung just right. No throwing wads of it on the branches. Each strand had to be draped separately. We also had the big colored lights with reflectors. We placed our tree in our picture window. I loved standing in the driveway at night to look at it from outside. I always thought we had the best tree on the street.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      What a special memory. I hope you had a very merry Christmas!

      Like

Leave a Reply

