Molly’s Christmas Tree

Two weeks until Christmas! Eeek! I haven’t even wrapped a single Christmas present! I guess I’ve just been too busy dressing my dolls for Christmas and creating coordinating Christmas trees. 🙂

For this week I created Molly’s Christmas tree based on trees from the 1940s as well as the description from Molly’s Surprise.  Confession: Molly’s Surprise makes me cry. At the end when Dr. McIntire greets his family on the radio, and the illustration of the family so overjoyed to hear his voice, I get a little weepy.

Anyway, I had a ton of fun creating Molly’s Christmas tree. I made a paper chain and my mom made a popcorn garland. I made a tinfoil star for the top, which the book described as having been made by Molly’s little brother, Brad. Big colored Christmas lights were all the rage by Molly’s time, though they weren’t actually produced during the war. Molly’s family probably had most of their decorations from before factories stopped producing things like Christmas lights and started manufacturing war equipment. That was actually Molly’s favorite thing about Christmas: the tradition of using the same sentimental decorations year after year. I definitely agree with her!


      

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Lovely! I am enjoying these posts. The popcorn garland and paper garland are very festive together.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you, they’ve been fun to make!

      Like

  2. Fawn says:

    I think this is my favorite tree so far. We had the big lights on our tree, too, when I was a kid.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      I actually had a hard time finding big lights in that traditional shape that were to scale for 18″ dolls. When I did find some (Dollar General) they were white, so I colored them with Sharpies since Christmas lights in the 1940s would have been colored (to the best of my knowledge). Thanks for the comment! It was my favorite one to make so far and I always love getting to use Molly and Emily together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

