Thrifty Thursday: Rebecca’s Festive Brooch

on

Hanukkah is next week and I wanted something special for Rebecca to wear. Her Hanukkah dress has not yet made it into my collection (it’s high on my list, but I’ve been forcing myself to keep this expensive hobby ofmine under control lately) so I knew I was going to have to make her something. Her lacquered brooch that came with her original meet accessories played an important role in both Meet Rebecca and one of her mysteries, The Crystal Ball. Such pins were described as a culturally significant artisan craft from Russia. Immigrant women in America treasured them, especially because they were difficult to find outside of Russia. I decided to try my hand at designing and making one that gives a nod at one of Rebecca’s favorite holidays without being too obnoxious. Since I don’t celebrate Hanukkah myself, I also didn’t want to be too presumptuous about a religion I am not overly familiar with. I decided on a simple design with eight stars, one for each night of Hanukkah. They could also represent candle flames rather than stars. I am fairly pleased at the final result, though if I did it again I think I would make it smaller. Here is what I did:

 

I started with an oval cut from poster board. I painted it black with acrylic paint.

 

 

 


I used gray to paint a design in the background to give it some dimension.

I painted the stars with yellow accented with white and made a border with light blue.

IMG_1148

The trick to getting the shiny enamel look is clear fingernail polish!

I put a pin on the back; this would have worked better with an actual pin back that you can buy from craft stores, but I didn’t have one on hand so I made do.

I am glad Rebecca has a little festive sparkle. 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    I think it’s great! I had a lacquered brooch and the pin backing was similar to what you devised. I like a mix of AG and other hand crafted items to make a one of a kind look.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Oh ok, cool, maybe I’m not too far off then. I agree, I love both aspects of my doll hobby: collecting AG items and creating my own! Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

