Thrifty Thursday: Julie’s Bandana Top

IMG_6895

Today was an unseasonably warm October day where I live, so Julie and I decided to celebrate these last fleeting days with a tank top made from a $1 bandana! It was super easy to make and I think the paisley pattern is groovy 🙂

IMG_6887
I cut six inches or so off of the bandana, and then cut it into these shapes:


Cut again…

Discarded all but these three pieces:  

I sewed them together and hemmed the raw edges (the great thing about using a prefabricated bandana was the presence of most of the hems already). I rolled over the neckline to make a space for the ribbon:

I threaded a ribbon and added a fastener to the back and ta-da!

IMG_6892Cool weather is coming, though, so when an autumn breeze blows Julie can layer it with the pink poncho I crocheted for her a couple of weeks ago!
IMG_6896IMG_6901

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sharry A. says:

    Outta site! Julie looks really far out in her new threads!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks Sharry! That means a lot coming from the ’70s expert! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

