Thrifty Thursday: Maryellen’s Crinoline

Welcome Maryellen! The weekend of her debut, my mom and sister and I made a special trip to Chicago so Mom could pick out her Maryellen! She is beautiful and so fun! I might have to add her to my own collection someday. The doll is adorable, her collection is to-die-for, and her books are very well done. What’s not to love!

In the car on our way to Chicago we systematically ranked each piece of her collection to help my mom decide what to buy (since we couldn’t seem to talk her into just buying it all 🙂 ). Her school dress, play outfit, birthday dress, and poodle skirt all got 10/10, so those were the ones she decided to get. When the crinoline was on the table for discussion, though, we only gave it a 2/10. We definitely agreed that a crinoline was a crucial part of 1950s attire, but $16 for an undergarment seemed unnecessary, especially one that looked pretty easy to make. I had seen a free pattern online, so we decided that we could tackle that project easily. This past weekend, however, when I started going through the fabric closet to find crinoline materials, I found this roll of six inch tule leftover from my wedding. Lightbulb moment! No pattern needed! Here’s what I did:

  

I cut 8 pieces of tule 36 inches long. I stacked them together, which was actually tricky because they stick to each other so badly. Pinning each layer as I went helped. I basted across the top and gathered it to the right size to fit around her waist. The ends were a little uneven, so I trimmed those up. I cut a nice long piece of ribbon and sewed it across the gathering stitches to make them permanent. I sewed it part of the way up the back to complete the skirt shape. The ribbon ties are what fasten it around her waist.

  

When I put it on it was about an inch too long, so I trimmed it along the bottom and ta-da! It works great!
Here are some more pictures of Maryellen! I will post more later with all of her outfits and more details about our trip to Chicago!   
  

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Very nice! Looks like your crinoline is just as good! 🙂

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! It’s not as pretty and pink as the one from the store, but it does the job! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cb says:

    Yay!! I love your crinoline. Now if only my daughter would let me nab the crinoline from a ratty old ballet leo….

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks! Oooh, an old ballet tutu would work great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

