Kaya’s Transformation: No Longer “Flea Market Kaya”

She’s done! She’s beautiful! I’m ecstatic! You would never know that five weeks ago I found Kaya in a dirty box at a flea market.

Screen Shot 2015-09-08 at 7.51.48 AM

IMG_6765

She’s been through a lot. Here is a list of the spa treatments, surgical procedures, and wardrobe adjustments she went through:

  1. Baking soda body scrub
  2. Mr. Clean Magic Eraser body wash
  3. Original hair washed and conditioned
  4. New (used) wig obtained through eBay
  5. New wig washed, conditioned, brushed, conditioned, brushed, conditioned…
  6. Two phone calls to American Girl to find out if her meet outfit can be purchased separately (it can’t)
  7. Meet outfit obtained through eBay
  8. Limbs tightened
  9. Old wig removed
  10. New wig glued on
  11. Hair brushed, conditioned, braided, repeat 3X until I was satisfied
  12. Ends of braids trimmed even

It was all worth it! She is beautiful!


IMG_6761IMG_6781IMG_6787IMG_6798IMG_6760

Below is the original flea market gang. We haven’t forgotten about Julie and Marisol! They are both have undergone some initial spa treatments but aren’t quite ready for their close up yet. Stay tuned! 🙂

IMG_0632

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Kasey says:

    Wow! Kaya looks incredible! I would have guessed that you sent her in for a new head, or that this was an entirely new doll if you hadn’t said otherwise.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! I am really glad everything worked out as well as it did. I definitely did consider getting a new head for her a few times, but I am glad I went through with the restoration process. I really learned a lot by doing it.

      Like

  2. Beth says:

    She looks amazing!

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thank you! It was a really fun process and Kaya is now one of my absolute favorites! (not that I have favorites…)

      Like

  3. Catholic Bibliophagist says:

    Wow! What a change!

    Like

  4. lin2058615 says:

    You did a beautiful job Emily.

    Like

    1. Emily says:

      Thanks so much! I love my Kaya dearly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

